Fluvanna Creating Excellence Award 2017

Pictured Left to Right: Jason Lee, FCHS Assistant Principal; Brenda Gilliam, Director of Curriculum and Instruction; Dr. Steve Staples, Virginia State Superintendent; Terry Lintecum, Owner of Fruit Hill Orchard; and James Barlow, FCHS Principal

PRESS RELEASE – June 12, 2017

At an awards ceremony on Thursday, June 8, Fluvanna County Public Schools’ Career and Technical Education (CTE) Advisory Committee received the Creating Excellence Award for Region 5.

In the application for the award the abstract read:

In a small rural community with limited resources, Fluvanna County has managed to have a state-of-the-art High School with an exemplary CTE program. With input from the CTE Advisory Committee, the Board of Supervisors and the School Board of Fluvanna have worked to have a comprehensive CTE program. There are 11 different CTE programs and 30 courses offered within the High School.

By having a variety of offerings within the High School setting, Fluvanna County has seen a tremendous growth in the number of students who are leaving high school with industry credentials. In 2011-12, Fluvanna had 68 students earn industry credentials. This compares with 738 students who earned them during the 2015-16 school year. In the class of 2017, over 97 percent of students earned an industry credential.

Through the leadership of Fluvanna’s CTE Advisory committee, Fluvanna County Public Schools has embraced the vision of “Dare to Imagine.” Over the past five years, Fluvanna has expanded programs offerings and increased resources at the Middle School level. Programs added at the Middle School level include Project Lead the Way-Gateway to Technology Program. This Program offers courses such as Automation and Robotics and Computer Science to students in Grades 6 and 7. Students in Grade 5 take an introductory computer science course where they learn coding basics. Through a partnership with the Rotary, a STEAM Lab was created in our K-2 school introduce students to technology. There are plans underway to expand this offering into Grades 3 and 4.

“Partnerships in the community have afforded our students numerous opportunities and have created a sense of pride and enhanced the experiences we are able to offer our students,” stated Chuck Winkler, Superintendent.

Activities such as the CTE Open House, Hands on Fluvanna, and other community outreach events; help to promote the programs and what they offer to our community. The Advisory Committee continually works to evaluation programs, enhance student learning, and keep an eye on the future.

Members of the 2016-17 CTE Advisory Committee Include:
James Barlow – Principal
Trey Barlow – Teacher, FMS Engineering and Computer Science
Angie Blevins – School Test Coordinator
Doug Campbell – Teacher, Engineering
Carol Tracy Carr – School Board Chair
Dr. Dolores Carr – Teacher, Culinary Arts
Paul Chirico – Teacher, Carpentry
Brenda Gilliam – Director of Curriculum and Instruction
Linda Harding – Teacher, Business Education
Ben Hudson – Teacher, Engineering
William Hughes* – Community Member/Veteran
Russell Jennings – Teacher, Agriculture
Christine Kreitzman – Teacher, Business Education
Jason Lee – Assistant Principal
Owen Leitzel – Student
Vincent Leonardi – Owner, Leonardi Tree Care
Terry Lintecum – Owner, Fruit Hill Orchard
Tonya Lloyd – Teacher, FMS Family and Consumer Sciences
Dr. Robert Mayfield – Tensaka, Plant Manager: Vice-Chair VCEF
Darren McCauley – Teacher, Marketing Education
Valerie Palamountain – Piedmont VA Community College
Morgan Romeo – Piedmont Workforce Network, Asst. Dir.
Miriam Rushfinn – PVCC, Program Manager Youth and Special Programs
David Small – Teacher, Television Production
Jason Smith – Dir. Of Community and Economic Dev. For Fluvanna County
John Thompson – Parent, Fluvanna VA Cooperative Extension
Tonya Vowels – Teacher, FMS Business Education
Nick Ward – Teacher, Special Education
Katie Wilkerson – Teacher, Cosmetology and Barbering
Dr. Cedric Williams – Professor, University of Virginia

This is the fifth time Fluvanna County Public Schools has been recognized with a Creating Excellence Award. Previous recipients include:

2014- Outstanding Program- Television Production
2008- Business Partnership with Tenaska
2008- Outstanding Educator- Joe Mayes
2005- Outstanding Program- Engineering

Fluvanna County Public Schools is always looking for community members who would like to be a part of the CTE Advisory Committee. The committee meets quarterly to review the programs and provide feedback. If you would like to lend you expertise to this group, contact Brenda Gilliam, Director of Curriculum and Instruction at bgilliam@apps.fluco.org or 434-589-8208.

View Full Prehttps://drive.google.com/drive/folders/0Bzh6mhq-ZwsWaHA0WnU0NlZBLXcss Release