Fluvanna AP Scholars 16-17

FCHS AP Scholars- Left to Right: 

(Front Row) Newlin Humphrey, Jordan Reimers, William Bridge, Madison Carel, Casey Clarke  (Second Row) Emily Newton, Jacob Taylor, Cameron O’Dell, Veronica Reyes, Abby Sherman, Dionna Gant, and Kylie Haseltine.  Not Pictured- Niva Hoffman

PRESS RELEASE – October 2, 2017

Thirty-five Fluvanna County High School students have earned AP Scholar Awards in recognition of their exceptional achievement on AP Exams during the 2016-2017 school year.  This compares with 31 receiving the recognition in 2015-16 and 26 in 2014-15.

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program® (AP®) provides willing and academically prepared students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school, and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP Exams.

The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students’ performance on AP Exams.

One student, Eva McGehee (Class of 2017) earned the National AP Scholar Award.  This is the highest award granted by College Board.  The recognition is given to students who receive an average score of at least 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.  This is only the second time that a Fluvanna student has earned this recognition.  Eva currently attends Georgetown University.

Seven students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average score of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. These students are:

Emily Baker, James Madison University

Madeline Dunn, University of New Mexico

Sophia Kershner, University of Virginia

Harrison Lee, Carnegie Mellon University

Eva McGehee, Georgetown University

Emily Newton- FCHS 12th Grader

Alexander Scalzo, Virginia Tech

Seven students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average score of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams. These students are:

Matthew Lang, Virginia Tech

Cameron O’Dell- FCHS 12th Grader

Connor Reilly, McGill University, Schulich School of Music

Jeremy Schwartz,

Michael Shiner, Virginia Tech

Andrew Stevens, Shenandoah University

Jacob Taylor- FCHS 12th Grader

Twenty students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Exams with scores of 3 or higher. The AP Scholars are:

Nikola Bajs, James Madison University

William Bridge, FCHS 11th Grader

Madison Carel, FCHS 12th Grader

Casey Clarke, FCHS 12th Grader

Samson Conti, James Madison University

Annaliese Estes, College of William and Mary

Dionna Gant, FCHS 12th Grader

Kylie Haseltine, FCHS 12th Grader

Niva Hoffman, FCHS 12th Grader

Newlin Humphrey, FCHS 12th Grader

Nicole Kent, University of South Carolina

Owen Leitzel, Virginia Tech

Grace Newman, Christopher Newport University

Isabella O’Brien, University of Virginia

Matthew Rafaly, James Madison University

Jordan Reimers, FCHS 12th Grader

Veronica Reyes, FCHS 12th Grader

Abby Sherman, FCHS 12th Grader

Amy Sigmann, Old Dominion University

Jack Stanke, George Mason University

Of this year’s award recipients at Fluvanna County High School, 13 are currently enrolled at the High School.  These students have one or more years in which to complete college-level work and possibly earn a higher-level AP Scholar Award.

Fluvanna County High School had 162 students take AP exams during the 2016-17 school year with twenty-one percent of the 162 test takers earning the AP Scholar honor.

For additional information about the AP program, contact Brenda Gilliam, Executive Director for Instruction and Finance at bgilliam@apps.fluco.org or 434-589-8208.

View Full Press Release