Liz Ward

Liz Ward, FCPS Teacher of the Year

PRESS RELEASE – May 14, 2018

Fluvanna County Public Schools is pleased to announce Ms. Liz Ward has been named 2017-18 Division Teacher of the Year. She was chosen for this honor by a committee of administrators and staff who considered a roster of five school-level Teachers of the Year.

Ms. Ward was recognized by the School Board at its May 9 meeting. This is the eighth year that Fluvanna County Public Schools has recognized “Teachers of the Year.”

Chuck Winkler, Superintendent, remarked, “Teaching is a challenging profession. It is wonderful to have the opportunity to recognize all of our teachers for the time and energy that they put into the profession. We are excited to recognize those teachers whose peers acknowledge to be truly exceptional.”

Ms. Ward teaches Grade 2 at Central Elementary School. She designs lessons that actively engage her students. She enjoys the opportunity to work collegially and seeks advice from others. She serves as a leader for the Grade 2 Professional Learning Community (PLC). This year she has been an active participant in the Math Research Project with the University of Virginia and has also served as a Math Lead Participant.

Ms. Ward has been working with Fluvanna County Public Schools for four years. She holds a bachelor’s degree in business management from the University of Phoenix. She earned her teacher education endorsement from Mary Baldwin College. After completing the teacher education program, she attended Liberty University where she earned her master’s in education. Her colleagues describe her classroom as, “an example of a structured and positive learning environment where all children can learn.”

Ms. Ward is married to Chris Ward. They are the parents of a daughter Emma who attends Fluvanna Middle School. Ms. Ward has lived at Lake Monticello for 14 years.

The School Board also recognized the four other school-level Teachers of the Year for 2017-18:
West Central Primary – Patti Friemuth, Pre-Kindergarten Teacher
Carysbrook Elementary School – Deb Krestos, Special Education Teacher
Fluvanna Middle School-Brandy Abel-Grade 7 Language Arts Teacher
Fluvanna County High School – Michael Strickler, Band Teacher

Previous recipients of the division-level Teacher of the Year honor include:
2017 Region V Teacher of the Year-Mr. Russell Jennings, FCHS Agriculture
2016-Ms Theresa Scruggs, FMS Language Arts
2015-Ms. Virginia Staton, FMS Language Arts
2014-Ms. Karen Feathers, FMS Special Education
2013-Ms. Lori Hoffman, FCHS Mathematics
2012-Mr. David Small, FCHS TV Production and Leadership
2011-Ms. Victoria Zavadsky, FCHS English

View Full Press Release