PRESS RELEASE – May 24, 2019

Fluvanna County High School is pleased to announce recipients of the Paul W. Bragg Scholarship.  Established by Mr. Bragg’s will, and managed by the Charlottesville Area Community Foundation, the scholarship is meant, “to provide undergraduate college assistance based on both need and merit to graduates of Fluvanna County High School.”

Paul W. Bragg was a life-long resident of Fluvanna County, Virginia. He was born in Fluvanna in 1916 and lived his entire life in the family home on Middle Ford Road, where he died at age 87 on October 9, 2003. Mr. Bragg was a hard-working farmer, and he saved and invested wisely during his long life. He bequeathed the bulk of his considerable estate to the Charlottesville Area Community Foundation and directed the Foundation to establish a scholarship fund to benefit young people graduating from Fluvanna County High School.

The Charlottesville Area Community Foundation and the Paul W. Bragg Scholarship Fund Advisory Committee are dedicated to carrying out Mr. Bragg’s wishes in perpetuity. The Foundation manages the Bragg Scholarship Fund as part of its permanent endowment and each year notifies the Committee as to how much income is available to provide for scholarships in that year. The Committee then selects recipients from among that year’s applicants. Since the first scholarship was first awarded in 2006, there
have been 185 recipients and over one million dollars in awards. These recipients have attended Georgetown, University of New Mexico, University of South Carolina, Carnegie Mellon University, Oberlin College & Conservatory, McGill University, Vanderbilt, JMU, Lynchburg College, Mary Washington, PVCC, UVA, Virginia Tech, VCU, William and Mary, Longwood, Shenandoah, Tulane, Johnson and Wales, VMI, Liberty, University of Richmond, Amherst, North Carolina State, Ringling College of Art and Design, Bridgewater, and Christopher Newport. This year $122,000 in new scholarship money was available to members of the Class of 2019. One $40,000 scholarship- payable over four years, four $10,000 scholarships, six $5,000 scholarships, five $2,000 scholarships, and two $1,000 scholarships were announced at the awards night in May 21, 2019.

The Class of 2019 Bragg Scholarship Recipients are:

$40,000 — Bayley Leyshon, College of William and Mary
$10,000 — Adora Gamage, Virginia Commonwealth University
$10,000 — Madison Nazar, Radford University
$10,000 — Kamden Shephard, Virginia Tech
$10,000 — Dahris Tinsley, Old Dominion University
$5,000 — Alexus Campbell, West Virginia University
$5,000 — Andrew Farruggio, Virginia Tech
$5,000 — Alexis Harris, James Madison University
$5,000 — Trinity Haynes, Radford University
$5,000 — Hannah Ledford, James Madison University
$5,000 — Ayiana Ward, Longwood University
$2,000 — Hailey Donald, Randolph Macon College
$2,000 — Gabby Goodwin, Radford University
$2,000 — Samantha Bridges, Piedmont VA Community College
$2,000 — Denise Fierro-Ramirez, Radford University
$2,000 — McKenzie Wills, West Virginia University
$1,000 — Victoria Koczan, Piedmont VA Community College
$1,000 — Ashlee Pieno, Virginia Tech

View Full Press Release